A brief history of Discord

Most of us know what Discord is by now. Personally I’ve been using it since 2018. Everyday I hop on Discord to chat with friends, call & play games together. But how did Discord come to be?

It all started in 2011, when Discord co-founder Jason Citron was working on a gaming company called Hammer & Chisel. While working on the company’s first game, he realized that the existing communication tools were not up to par, and he began developing his own solution.

Did you know? Before Discord many people would use Skype or Microsoft teams to communicate.

In 2012, Citron and his team released Fates Forever, a mobile MOBA (multiplayer online battle arena) game that was notable for being one of the first games to use a new communication platform called OpenFeint. This platform allowed players to chat and communicate with each other in real-time, and it was a hit with the gaming community.
However, despite the success of Fates Forever and OpenFeint, Citron and his team decided to move on and focus on developing a standalone communication platform for gamers (A platform that wouldn’t be affiliated with any specific game, community or platform). They named this platform Discord, and in 2015, they released a public alpha version.

These are some snippets from the original homepage: